February 10th and 11th, 2017

Kean University, Union, New Jersey

Metro Classic 2017 Sponsors McDonald's Eii Electric Ferraro's Kevin Boyle Basketball Camp
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube


Contact Us


February 10th (Kean University) Results:

February 11th (Kean University) Results:


Since 2013, the Metro Classic Basketball Showcase has brought together the highest profile national and regional High School basketball teams to compete and provide a framework to give back to our communities.

The Metro Classic is designed to utilize basketball as an agent for community involvement.  We seek to foster values such as responsibility, respect, leadership, integrity, competition and service to others.  Over the years the Metro Classic sponsors and teams have touched the life of so many by donating funds and their time to outstanding community service organizations such as Warfighter Sports, Interfaith Hospitality Network of Ocean County, Union County Interscholastic Athletic Conference Collegiate Scholarship Fund and the Neonatal Unit of the Children’s Hospital of New Jersey, Newark Beth Israel Medical Center.

The two-day event, televised on MSG Varsity, is held annually at Kean University’s, 2500-seat Harwood Arena, in Union, NJ and has sold out since its inception.  Participants have included national and local powers Montverde Academy, Roselle Catholic, St. Benedict's Prep, St. Joseph's Metuchen, Long Island Lutheran, Linden, The Patrick School, Our Savior New American, Pope John, Life Center, Gill St. Bernard's, Hudson Catholic, Hunterdon Central, Union Catholic, and Rumson Fairhaven, among others.

Current NBA standouts, Ben Simmons (Montverde, Sixers); Karl Towns (St. Joe's Metuchen, Timberwolves); D'Angleo Russell (Montverde, Lakers); Deandre Bembey (Patrick School, Hawks); Dakari Johnson, (Montverde, Thunder); Chieck Diallo (Our Savior, Pelicans); Wade Baldwin (St. Joes Metuchen, Grizzlies), and Malachi Richardson (Kings) have shown of their skills at the Metro Classic.

Future College and High School All Americans have included Isaiah Briscoe (Kentucky); Travon Duval (St. Benedicts, Kansas); Kasey Hill (Florida); Tyler Roberson and Mustafa Diagne (Syracuse), and Chris Silva (South Carolina).

The Metro Classic has also been a must-see event for numerous collegiate coaches including John Calipari, Kentucky; Mick Cronin, Cincinnati; Frank Martin, South Carolina; Thad Matta, Ohio State; Bill Self, Kansas; John Thompson, Georgetown; and Jay Wright, Villanova.

  • For sponsorship opportunities and group tickets of 10 or more please contact:

  • Pryia Roy
  • Metro Classic Director

  • metroclassic2015@gmail.com
Back to Top